Watch, Wait, and Try not to Explode!

doggy

A Personal Journey

Every time that I’ve had the opportunity to go to Israel, I prayed about it, and God told me, “No, not yet.”  That answer gave me hope because He wasn’t saying I could never go.  Implicit in His answer, there was the promise that when I do go, it is really going to be special and amazing.  So I knew that if I just watched and waited, my time would come (much like the Rapture! 🙂 ).

In December when I met Angus and Pamela (at the Pre-Tribulation Rapture Conference—talk about trying not to explode!), they told me that they lead tour groups to Israel every spring, and they invited me to come along.  I desperately wanted to say yes, but instead I said that I would have to pray about it.  When I did, instead of “No, not yet,” God said “Wait.”  So I waited, afraid that this was just another “No, not yet” reworded.  But about six weeks later, I felt the nudge of the Holy Spirit to go look at the website they had given me, Christian Tours To Israel.  But when I did, I saw that the tour was full.

However, I didn’t give up.  Instead I went on Facebook and sent Pamela a message, just asking that if a place opens up to let me know.  Sometimes it can take a week for people to respond to Facebook messages, but Pamela immediately responded, saying that they had a place for one woman.  I knew then that my time had come.

So I signed on for the tour, made my own flight arrangements from Italy (since the rest of them were flying from the US), and then came the hard part: trying not to explode from excitement.

Now it’s only a few days away, and the excitement is harder than ever to control.  Have you ever seen a dog that has a treat put right in front of it, and is told to “leave it”?  (Follow that link for a cute video example.)  Many times the dog looks away, occasionally checking to make sure that the treat is still there.  Well, I’m the dog and Israel is the treat.  I’m so excited about it that I’m afraid to think about it too much.  So like the dog, I look away, by busying myself with things here in Milan.  But I can’t resist thinking about it all the time.  What does God have for me there?  Honestly, I don’t know.  But I know that it will be amazing.  God is good!

Leave a Reply

