On the Rainbow Road to Pristina

rainbow

After church we had a quick lunch and piled into the van to go to Kosovo.  The city streets are full of cars and the van has to dodge potholes (many manhole covers are missing!), so I didn’t doze off until we got out of town and onto the highway.  I slept deeply for about an hour, and when I opened my eyes, we were in the mountains.  We stopped about halfway for coffee and a bathroom break.  Once we were settled back into our places in the van, I began to doze again, then I noticed a very strange rainbow.  It was a big, wide rainbow that was flat on the ground.  I realized that I was not dreaming or having a vision, so I pointed it out.  At the same time Angela saw it from the front seat.  Together we were saying, “Rainbow!  Rainbow!”  All our dozing vanmates woke up and pulled out their cameras for a picture of the peculiar rainbow.

We drove on a bit farther and crossed the border into Kosovo.  It took less time for the border guards to look at our eight passports than it did for the other car’s three.  That’s because Stefan, the Greek pastor, was driving the other car, and here in the Balkans, there is a lot of suspicion and animosity regarding Greece and the Greek people.  But they did let him through.  On the other side of the border, we saw more and more and more rainbows, including a huge rainbow that stood over the highway taller and broader than the Arch in St. Louis.

All the rainbows were very encouraging, and it made me think of the rainbow I saw in Israel that followed our bus (I haven’t put any of my Israel trip on the blog yet, but that was also encouraging).

We only have two days here in Pristina, and given that Tirana needed every bit of the five days we had there, I wondered how things would go here.  But after the teaching, which included everything about Kosovo’s bloody history, we felt strangely encouraged.  We concluded the evening by praying faith-filled prayers, with lots of visions that spoke of victory over the enemy.  Then together we shouted, “Thus says the Lord: ‘Kosovo is mine!  Kosovo is mine!  Kosovo is mine!’ ”  God is good!

One thought on “On the Rainbow Road to Pristina

  1. Pingback: The Significance of Rainbows | Alialbrown's Blog

Leave a Reply

