Know God by Name – God, My Husband

 

lightstock_4577_small_alisa.jpg

For your Creator will be your Husband; the Lord of Heaven’s Armies is His Name!  He is your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel, the God of all the earth, (Isaiah 54:5, emphasis mine).

When God reclaimed me, in September1992, He gave me all of Isaiah chapter 54 as a rhema word[1] for my life.  But it made no sense to me because I had a husband.  Just as confusing was the beginning of the chapter, which talks about many, many children for the barren woman:

Sing, O childless woman, you who have never given birth!  Break into loud and joyful song, O Jerusalem, you who have never been in labor.  For the desolate woman now has more children than the woman who lives with her husband, says the Lord, (Isaiah 54:1, emphasis mine).

I had a husband and two kids in the very next room at the time that these words were jumping off the page at me.  I wasn’t barren, I wasn’t childless.  So while I knew that God was speaking to me, personally, I was also very puzzled about the meaning of all this.

Years later, after the divorce, God called me to full-time ministry in Europe.  I was sitting on a train in Italy when He reminded me that He would be my husband.  I felt giddy, and thought that I had only imagined that He had said it to me.  When the train pulled into the station I had only two minutes to change trains.  I had to manage my heavy suitcase down the stairs, across to the right track, back up the stairs, and somehow find the right car on the next train.  Going down the stairs was easy.  Gravity is your friend for getting a heavy suitcase down the stairs.  At the bottom of the stairs to the track for my next train, I took a moment to brace myself for the hoist.  At that moment I felt a rough hand grab the bag out of my hand.  A big black man took the suitcase up the stairs for me and set it down at the track on the left (how had he known that I was taking the train on the left track?), and he walked off without a word, vanishing into the crowd.  Just then the train pulled into the station.  I checked my ticket: I needed to get onto car number eleven.  When it stopped guess which car stopped right where my bag sat: car number eleven.  Then the Lord whispered, “See, I know how to take care of you like a husband should.”

Then two years ago I had a dream.  In this dream I was in a park with a pool.  All around the pool was beautiful green grass.  Now, I’m like a little kid when it comes to swimming pools.  Even at my age (60), I will dive and dive and dive until I make myself physically ill.  In the dream that’s what I was doing: diving and diving off the board into the pool.  Then I came up out of the pool to go around and get in line again.  But this time I stopped because there was Jesus standing just about twenty feet away.  I knew that He wanted to marry me, so went over to Him.

I have a ring that I wear on my left ring finger (wedding band finger).  It is a Mobius strip with Jeremiah 29:11[2] engraved on it.  I took the ring off my finger and put it in His hand.  Then I knelt before Him.  I don’t know how, He might have knelt, too because we remained face-to-face, gazing into each other’s eyes.  He put the ring back on my finger all the time holding my gaze.  And we stayed like that, eyes locked, for a long moment.  His eyes communicated a love to me that was as fierce as it was tender.  I never wanted that moment to stop.  I felt so much love, even though He never said a word.

Friends and family sometimes worry about me because I am alone a lot of the time.  They think that a marriage would fix that problem.  But some of the loneliest people on earth have a spouse next to them in bed at night.  There is a vast difference between being alone and being lonely.

Suki once prophesied over me from Isaiah 45:1-3 (putting my name in the place of Cyrus’):

This is what the Lord says to his anointed, to Alisa, whose right hand I take hold of to subdue nations before her and to strip kings of their armor, to open doors before her so that gates will not be shut: I will go before you and will level the mountains; I will break down gates of bronze and cut through bars of iron.  I will give you hidden treasures, riches stored in secret places, so that you may know that I am the Lord, the God of Israel, who summons you by name[3].

This was not the first time I had received a word like this.  The Lord reminds me again and again, through various prophets, about hidden treasures, the full inheritance, the table full of whatever I want.  I know that God loves me and that He provides everything I could ever want or need.  Truly, I know that God is my Divine Husband.  What more could I possibly want?  God is good!

[1] A rhema word is a verse or passage from the Bible that is perceived to be a personal message from God.

[2] For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord. They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.

[3] New International Version of the Bible, emphasis mine.

One thought on “Know God by Name – God, My Husband

  1. Pingback: My Blessed Calling | Walking By Faith in Europe

Leave a Reply

