Know God by Name – God My Peace

 

IMG_5852.JPG

For a Child is born to us, a Son is given to us.  The government will rest on His shoulders.  And He will be called: Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of PeaceHis government and its peace will never end.  He will rule with fairness and justice from the throne of his ancestor David for all eternity.  The passionate commitment of the Lord of Heaven’s Armies will make this happen! (Isaiah 9:6-7, emphasis mine).

Gideon built an altar to the Lord there and named it Yahweh-Shalom (which means “the Lord is peace”), (Judges 6:24, emphasis mine).

In both of these passages the word peace is shalom in the original Hebrew.  According to Strong’s[1] Shalom means so much more than peace.  Shalom encompasses completeness, wholeness, health, welfare, safety, soundness, tranquility, prosperity, perfectness, fullness, rest, harmony, the absence of agitation or discord, and of course peace.  So really, you could take that phrase from Judges (above) that says The Lord is Peace and you can replace it with any of these other words from Strong’s:

  • The Lord is Completeness – Anything that I lack, the Lord makes complete. And consider this: The Lord is Complete Peace.
  • The Lord is Wholeness – The Lord makes the broken places in my heart seamlessly whole.
  • The Lord is Health – And as His child, I can enjoy health. By his stripes 2000 years ago, I have been healed (1 Peter 2:24).  And consider this: The Lord is Complete Health.
  • The Lord is Welfare – As I look to Him, the Lord will not withhold from me any of my needs: food, clothing, and shelter.
  • The Lord is Safety – He will guard me as He guides me through each day in safety as I trust and follow Him.
  • The Lord is Soundness – The good things God gives me, He gives me for my good, and they are always good for me.
  • The Lord is Tranquility – The quietness and rest my soul needs are in the Lord.
  • The Lord is Prosperity – All the riches I need to live come from the Lord.
  • The Lord is Perfectness – I don’t have to strive to be perfect because my perfection is found in the Lord. He perfects me by His grace through the Holy Spirit as I submit to His leading.
  • The Lord is Fullness – In God I can enjoy fullness of every good thing: a full night’s sleep, full understanding of the things I need to know, and a full life.
  • The Lord is Rest – I can enjoy rest from all troubles. Even in the midst of trouble, the Lord is Rest.
  • The Lord is Harmony – My relationships can find harmony as I embrace God and let His love and harmony flow through me to others.
  • The Lord is the Absence of Agitation or Discord – God’s Shalom goes with me even in places or situations of agitation or discord.

In the Hebrew dictionary words are not listed alphabetically.  Rather, words are listed by their three-consonant root.  All words that share the same root are related.  Some of those relations are surprising, and yet make sense as you begin to understand the Hebraic mindset.  So here’s a nugget: the modern Hebrew word shelem is related to shalom[2], and means “to pay for.”  And shulam means “to be fully paid.”  So to that amazing list above, we can add this:

  • The Lord has Fully Paid – Jesus has fully paid the price for all my sins: past, present, and future.

Jesus is the only Source of Shalom in all its full meaning.  If you don’t know Jesus, ask Him today to come fill your heart with His presence, His Shalom.  As you surrender your heart and life to Him, you will find the Peace that exceeds all understanding[3]: Shalom!  God is good!

[1] Strong’s Concordance 7965.

[2] שׁﬥﬦ, only the vowels differ.

[3] Philippians 4:7.

Leave a Reply

