Bringing God’s Presence

IMG_20161007_104026 (1).jpg

Elevator selfie, on my way to take God’s Presence to Zurich last fall

18 September 2016

Yesterday was the March for Jesus, and it was a huge success—emphasis on the word huge.  There was such a huge crowd of marchers that we almost filled Piazza Duomo, the big central piazza of Milan.  Instead of being engulfed by the crowd, we engulfed them.  The March (in Italian: Marcia per Gesù) was noisy fun.  I went with friends who were staying with me.  Since my guests were unaffiliated with any church in Milan, we marched with my church.  They gave us lots of evangelistic material to pass out to the crowd, but many people already had a handful of fliers and tracts from marchers ahead of us.  My church is particularly fun to march with because the youth are almost all trained in clowning, juggling, fire-spitting, and other circus-type acts.  Others dance and do flagging.  One brave guy marched on stilts.  Every so often the march would stop and entertain the watching crowd with a song or a circus act.  As we marched, we sang the chorus to a lively song by our music pastor:

O-lay[1]!  O-lay, o-lay, o-lay!

Gesù!  Gesù!

O-lay!  O-lay, o-lay, o-lay!

Gesù!  Gesù!

Or chanted:

Noi abbiamo Gesù nel cuore!

(clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap)

Noi abbiamo Gesù nel cuore!

(clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap, clap)

Here’s a video someone posted on You Tube: 2016 March for Jesus[2].  Good fun!

Starting today (day five) things in the Jericho March were all quiet.  The anarchist group had their second and final fundraising party last night.  I prayed for the fundraiser to fail, and without even checking (how would I check?), I know that my prayer was heard.  How do I know?  Because for the first time the march seemed more like a session of morning exercise than prayer walking and spiritual battle.

Sometimes God tells me: “It’s enough that you’re here.”  Since I carry the presence of the Holy Spirit inside of me, I am bringing Him.  I brought Him to the March for Jesus (as did a whole lot of others), and I am daily bringing Him to this part of my neighborhood, and I will continue to do so until the job is finished and He takes me home.

Only two more days to go on the Jericho March.  God is good!

[1] O-lay has no meaning in Italian, it’s just a song word like fa-la-la.

[2] My church are the ones in yellow t-shirts.  If you want to spot me I’m at the left, shaking hands with a guy in a red shirt at 11:43.

Leave a Reply

